Calicut University

Calicut University was established on 23/07/1968, by Decree No. 5/68 issued by the Government. of Kerala, which was later superseded by the University of Calicut Act, 1975. The objectives of the university are the qualitative development of higher education and research in all fields of human development with special reference to the technical and technological sectors and the promotion of art and culture in particular Kerala state, to raise the standard of educationally backward persons and to accelerate The process of human development in the relatively less developed areas of North Kerala, now, after the establishment of Kannur University in 1995, the jurisdiction of the University of Calicut is limited to the districts of Thrissur, Palakkad, Malappuram, Kozhikode and Wayanad (excluding the Taluk of Mananthavady). The main campus of the university is Thenhipalam (Malappuram Dt), 23 km. South of Kozhikode and spread over an area of ​​200 hectares. On either side of NH-17.

Administrative office, Pareeksha bhavan, distance learning school, indoor and outdoor playground, university press, publishing department, engineering department of the university, hostels for men and women, working women’s hostel, faculty hostel and staff quarters are located here. Well-equipped Library, Audiovisual Research Centre, Computer Centre, Science and Instrumentation Centre, Guest House and Seminar Complex, School of Health Sciences, University Health Centre, Supermarket, Canteen, State Bank of Travancore with ATM, Post Office and also functioning Campus telephone exchange. There are also extensive playgrounds and a gymnasium on campus.

The university has complete educational departments and many study centers and schools. The university has two major counseling centers, one in Thrissur and the other in Calicut. Another center is being set up in Vattakkara. Besides, the university has Teacher Education Centers in all five provinces and Advanced Computer Science Centers in 13 venues offering MCA, MSc Computer and BSc IT courses. Calicut University Institute of Engineering and Technology (CUIET) is located on the campus, 400 meters from Kohinoor on NH-17. There are over 150 colleges affiliated with the university including teacher training colleges, engineering colleges, medical colleges, law schools, IHRD centers, College of Fine Arts, Eastern Address Colleges, and College of Dentistry, Nursing, and Homeopathy.